Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jun 5, 2006, 9:12 PM   #1

I'm a confused newbie! Please help! :?

I would really like to spend less than $2,000 US for a DSLR and a couple of lenses. This is getting to be very difficult!

I am definitely getting the Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT and I plan on doing mostly 3 types of photography to begin with.
1. Portrait
2. Night Photography (mostly static objects and sometimes indoors in low light)
3. Street Photography
  • I have read the bad reviews of the Canon 17-85, and I'm not impressed with it so I'm NOT getting that one. [/*]
  • I would love to get the new Canon 17-55 IS lens, but I am wondering just how important the IS is without the flash? I am thinking maybe this is ALL that I need to start with? It is pricey.[/*]
  • The Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di II LD would be the equivalent in my price range, but I have not seen too much on the net about this lens and its ability to shoot in low light well or for night photography. Is it on par with the quality of a Canon EF? [/*]
  • Sigma 17-70 f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro. Again, like the Tamron there isn't much out there on the net to help me decide. [/*]
  • Tamron SP AF 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD is also in contention. I did see a couple of good reviews for that one. [/*]
  • Canon Zoom Super Wide Angle EF 17-40mm f/4L USM is within reach price wise. [/*]
  • Cannot forget the Tamron SP AF 24-135MM F/3.5-5.6[/*]
  • And last, I'm considering the Canon 85mm 1.2L which I think is better than the 50mm 1.4 for what I would like with portrait photos. [/*]