Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Sep 12, 2006, 4:23 AM   #1

Looks like I've suffered from the same problem as many of you.

Took mybrand new S3 IS on holiday with a 2GB 50X Kingston card and took 320+ pictures and 10 video clips. All seemed OK. On the last day of the holiday, I took a photo of my daughter and the camera said "unable to write file, memory card error". The card may have been full, I can't be sure, it was certainly nearly full.

I then got a message "Memory card error" and so I switched off the camera. On switching it on again, the dreaded "No images" was displayed and the camera believed that I had lost the lot.

Because I work in IT, I was able to retrieve *most* of the photos when I returned home by trawling the card a sector at a time and rebuilding the JPGs, and it was clear what the problem was - the camera had made a mess of writing the FAT (file directory) and so the CANON folder had a subfolder of "CANON" which had a subfolder of "CANON" which had a subfolder of "CANON"... etc ie the photos were there, but the FAT was corrupt.

I still have the card and may see whether Canon are interested in looking at it - but my personal suspicion is that the Canon firmware is less than reliable when using large cards, possibly especially when the card is full or nearly so.

Anyone agree/disagree?

benne30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 24, 2006, 2:41 PM   #2

I just had a similar error.On the last day ofmy honeymoon it happend andImay havelost around 500 images. Now the camera says "no images" and card readers say that there is no media present or 0 images or something equally depressing! I hope it is the file structure and not a bad card. That would bite to loose all those pictures! BTW, how did you get your images back? It would be great if I could even get half of what we have on that card.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"Thanks.