Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old May 9, 2007, 4:21 PM   #1

I am tired of relying on Auto and getting mixed results and I am ready to venture outside the comfort zone and into the unknown of freedom and control. I am not a professional(DUH! ) and just use my camera for general use, but I want the best quality I can get. I don't have a tripod. I would like some general all-purpose settings to try for various situations such as sports or fast scenes, indoors, outdoors etc.
michaelda is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 10, 2007, 2:00 AM   #2

if you want the best quality here are my suggestions:

stick to the lowest iso setting using P mode

open the image stabilization

and hold your camera with two hands :-)
echinacea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10, 2007, 11:40 AM   #3

In addition to the above response (good advice), I would add a couple;
  1. Don't use the flash unless you have to. The color is generally better with natural light, and the flash tends to bounce off of windows, retinas, and other object. Also remember that the flash is only designed to reach up to 17 feet (per Canon), and if you use it at longer distances, the camera will assume it's getting more flash assist than it is and will squelch the lighting down, giving you dark photos. Armed with this knowledge, you may safely snicker at those other spectators using their mini flashes from 50 feet away.[/*]
  2. For fast action, don't insist on stopping the action completely. Your photos may be more satisfying in these situations with some motion blur to convey the action. Practice following subjects as they move past you, blurring the background while keeping the subject in focus.