Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Aug 18, 2003, 2:48 PM   #1
Default G3 flashcards and readers questions

My mother-in-law is willing to buy my wife and I a digital camera for our birthdays. As a digital camera novice, I was hoping some of you could rate my decision on a G3. I've researched it and made grandiose statements about how this is one of the top-of-the-line cameras out there, blah, blah, blah. I'd hate to find out, after getting it, that the G3 is a disappointment - especially when you consider I'm spending my mother-in-law's cash.

Also, everyone says the 32MB CF is too small, but can't I just take 24 or so shots and empty the card on my computer? I'd like a 256MB, don't get me wrong, but they seem awfully pricey.

Do I also need a reader? Is the drain on the camera's battery so severe when using it to upload images to the PC that a card reader is a necessity?

Finally, where is the best online store to buy the camera? I'm talking cheapest price without having to deal without the pressure to buy overpriced accessories.

Sorry I have so many questions and thanks for the time to answer them.

czochara is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 18, 2003, 5:55 PM   #2

I have had the G3 since February and love it. It is as basic or as advanced as you want. Selections are not buried in multiple sublevel menus. I have started taking pictures on a for-hire basis for friends, making a few corrections, then giving them a CD of pics. Then it is up to them on prints.

On the Superfine-Large settings, you are only able to get about 14 shots on a 32-meg card but you can get about 120 on a 256. I have seen 256-meg cards from Dell for about $60. On a recent 2 week trip to Colorado, I filled my 256-meg card as well as a 128 (a total of 209 shots). I had my wife's 16-meg that came with her S230 and my 32-meg that came G3.