Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Aug 11, 2008, 3:25 PM   #1

With my new Powershot A610 despite holding the camera fairly stable my images mostly come out blurry. The times when it isnt blurry the shots look great. How the heck can i get a stable looking shot. Is this why newer cameras come with IS? I figure with A610's fast shutter speed that it would capture any image without the blur thus not requiring image stabilization.

I'm not a professional and so was hoping to use the AUTO mode (many times with the Flash Off) but if there are settings to capture with less chance of blur then I'm all for it. I'm still reading up on all this camera technobabble but i did try switching to Tv mode but all shots come out black regardless of switching the shutter speed from 1/60 to 1/2500.

quantass is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 7, 2008, 1:32 PM   #2

Have you tried using a tripod or placing the camera on a stable surface with the self-timer to see if it is all motion blurr?
luisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2008, 4:50 PM   #3

Welcome to photography. The three elements you need to understand are shutter speed, lens speed (aperture), and "film" speed (ISO). These three legs of exposure are the basic elements to control your outcome.

You discussed changing just shutter speed from 1/60 to 1/2500, which is basically from a short time to an extremely short time. Your shutter needs to be opened long enough for light to be captured for the "correct" amount of time. If your LCD screen and or the picture ends up black, that means you did not expose the image sensor (the "film") to light long enough.