Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Nov 27, 2010, 5:29 PM   #1
Default Choosing a Camera

I am a new member, and an ameture photographer at best. I am trying to decide on a new camera. As a physician I take pictures in the operating room and in my office. I have a Nikon D5000 but find it difficult to take pictures on the go and don't have enough room in my bag. I've been using an old Canon powershot but it doesn't have the zoom/macro I need for close up shoots. I've been interested in the new 4/3's design but still feel this is too big and would require lens changes? Also considering the Canon S95 but still has low zoom. Any suggestions??

Plasticos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 27, 2010, 6:41 PM   #2

G12 is Canon's other high-end point and shoot, but with a longer (5X) zoom.
Under_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2010, 7:55 PM   #3

I have the Canon G11, which is pretty much the same as the new G12. I use Canon's close-up lenses (250D +4, and 500D +2 diopter) with the Lensmate adapter tubes (parts A + C). This allows you to zoom the lens to max zoom (140mm equiv) to "stand off" from the subject and allow more light in, as well as use an external flash, off camera (by cord or wireless). Here's a link on another forum to a current thread by someone that has pretty much mastered using the G11 with this concept and different diopter close up lenses, all of them achromatic to get the best results.

Here's a link to the Lensmate site concerning their tubes for the G10/G11/G12 (they all use the same lens). Their tubes A + C are designed to use a 58mm filter. They have a new quick change system that uses 52mm filters. Canon just announced a new filter holder that uses 58mm filters, and zooms with the lens to eliminate any vignetting that tends to occur with the fixed tube systems.

denncald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2010, 8:00 PM   #4