Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Jan 7, 2004, 6:22 PM   #1
Default canon a80 vs. minolta s414

I'm new to digital photography and I am looking to purchase a new camera within the next couple of days. I looked at both these models but am not sure which is a better buy. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
bigtone is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 12, 2004, 9:41 AM   #2

First I give my disclaimer, this purchase has been my first digital camera which makes me quite new to them. I have been using 35mm cameras for quite a while, but have gotten out of photography over the past couple of years. I first bought a Fuji 310, but didn't like the lack of manual controls, so I returned it and had to decided between the A80 and the Minolta S414.

I'm not sure how much of a help this will be but....

I ended up choosing the S414, but I think that I am going to return it and go buy the A80. There are a few reasons for this.

1) I think it's a little trickier to use if you want a simple point and shoot camera. I don't mind taking the time to learn the minolta camera, but I know that my wife won't take the time, and will just want to press the button.

2)I seem to be having focusing problems and loosing a lot of shots. I like the fact that the canon A80 has the focus assist lamp to help with low light shots.

3)I like the swivel LCD on the A80, don't know if I'll use it much, but looks like it could help with interesting shots and self portraits.

4)The tripod mount on the Minolta is not centered and is really an odd place....minor point, but kind of weird.

5)I find the LCD screen on the S414 (although larger) to be poor quality and doesn't give a very nice quality playback photo.

Now some of these points are somewhat picky and somewhat personal problems with the camera....but they are making me change my mind.