Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Jan 27, 2004, 11:03 AM   #1
Default Looking for advice: G5 vs Digital Rebel

I've been reading reviews here and else where on both cameras and can't make up my mind.

Right now I'm an novice photographer and find myself using the auto mode alot on my S200. I have a new baby and want to upgrade to one of these cameras to take bigger pictures. My wife agreed to either. The biggest picture I plan to print is an 8x10

Will the G5 let me take the pictures I want plus allow me to learn more about photography and become better at it or will the Digital Rebel better suite my needs.

My main concern is I don't want to spend the money for the digital rebel and feel its over kill nor do I want to get the G5 and feel it lacking and wishing I had gotten the Digital Rebel

My other problem with getting new digital toys is my luck has been they usually go on sale a week or so after I get them.

I also have to get it from amazon since I have $175 in gift certificates.

Any advice is appreciated.
tidal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2004, 3:41 PM   #2

i'll be waiting until after PMA is it?

some rumor about a 8MP Canon G5... probably not true but I'll see what comes of the show.
tidal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2004, 4:57 PM   #3

There are supposedly rumors going around about a new addition to Canon's PowerShot line (it won't be called a G5, of course).

I just purchased a G5 ($535 w/ s&h & insurance from Ebay - brand new). The prices have come down recently since there will likely be a new release, and had I been more patient I probably could have waited a bit longer and paid a little bit less. But, my guess is that the G5 isn't going to drop too much more in price, based on the current pricing of the G3 (it's only a little cheaper than the G5).