Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Oct 14, 2002, 11:49 PM   #1
Default G2 Questions

Well, I've decided to buy a Powershot G2 and have a few questions that I hope can get answered.

1. Memory Cards. The review i read said that the G2 accepts Compact Flash Type I & II. Is Compact Flash a name brand? Can i also use Smart Media cards in my G2? Are Compact Flash and Smart Media the same thing?

2. It getting colder outside, should I be worried about taking the camera out? With the Holidays around the corner I'm sure I will be using the camera on alot of outings and is the cold gonna hurt the camera?

3. What accessories are a must have? After I get used to the G2 I plan on buying some other lenses and maybe another flash to use with the G2. But what kinds and what other stuff should i be looking at? Whats a good case for the G2.

and Finally
4. I am totally new to the world of digital photography (not really inept with regular photography for that matter) so do you have any advice/tips for me?

Thanks in advance for any help, and I am looking forward to snapping away with my new G2! My wife just had a baby boy so I have a model to take plenty of practice pictures!

Don Lamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2002, 11:48 AM   #2

I'm going to try again and reply to this message.

Memory Cards - Compact Flash is a form factor of memory and is shaped differently from Smart Media. In addition to these two types of memory cards there is also the Sony Memory Stick and Secure Digital (SD) cards.

They all do the same thing basically but they are not interchangeable. There are many different brands of CF cards, they are all essentially compatible with each other. The type I vs. type II difference is discussed in the Memory Card forum http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3623 .