Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Dec 21, 2004, 7:10 AM   #1

as of today I'm the proud owner of an s1 (yes!!!).

Here's my first question ( probably one of many) ( and forgive me if it's a stupid one) :?
Can one set it to take Auto Exposure bracketing while in auto mode? The instruction book talks about using it when in "P" "Tv" and "Av" ( pg 84) modes, but I'd like to be able to use it in Auto.

Oh, and a follow-up to that - is there anyway of making that auto exposure bracketing one of the shotcuts?

Thanks folks - 5 days away from taking my new camera to Beijing !!!!!!!

The joys of the Yuletide to you all!
Pagan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 21, 2004, 8:34 AM   #2

I'm a newbie as well so hopefully someone else can help out as well...

As far as I know, you cannot use exposure bracketing in auto (in fact, you can't really do much in auto).

As far as setting the shortcut key, I'm not too sure about that. I don't remember what the restrictions on the shortcut key are.
Sivaram Velauthapillai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 4:45 PM   #3

Hi ,The only difference between auto and P is that you can change settings .I have not bothered to set any custom function buttons on mine but a lot of owners set hyper focal distance setttings so that they can focus in low light better.My biggest tip to you would be to use P rather than Auto so you can set ISO to 50 as quality drops off quickly with higher ISO's and the camera shifts to higher ISO's a bit quicker than I would like in some situations.

Brendon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 6:34 PM   #4

I would agree. There's not much you can change in auto mode except the flash settings andauto timer, which is why I personally don't use it that much. According to the manual, exposure bracketing is only available in P, Tv, and Av.