Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old May 17, 2005, 7:29 PM   #1

I'm going in 1 week in Europe (Capitals of Europe)....the kind ofvoyage thatI will maybe not do again and I want to take a lot of photos as souvenirs. I just bought the Canon Powershot S1 IS but I know that the S2 will be out soon.... Should I bring back the S1 and use my old 35 mm during my trip???

I wanted to play with my S1 and maybe sale it after my voyage and buy the S2 when it will be out but I'm sure that I will loose in the exchange....

It seems that the S2 will have all the corrections on what was wrong on the S1: 5 mp, bigger zoom, bigger LCD, macro mode, total of 13 picture modes, AF assist etc... I'm sure it's gonna cost more of course than what I paid for the S1 but if it is about 499$US, I'm ok with it!

The only thing that scares me with the S2 is that they will pack 5mp in a1/2.5 inch type CCD (I'm not a pro but should it be bigger???)

I know that nothing is perfect, that there is tips for correct the wrong things on the S1 but really I don't know whatto do..... It's hard to wait!

I'm scared of the 3.2 mp on the S1 but I never print photos larger than 5x7 so I should be fine with that....Is it good also on 8.5x11?

Thank you for some help!!! (Sorry for my english!!!)

Orlane77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 17, 2005, 11:05 PM   #2

The S1 is still a fine camera, with a few limitations. The 3MP sensor will give you excellent 4x6 to 5x7 prints. "Good" is a relative term to different people, so the 8x10 output varies depending on who sees it. I think the 8x10 prints from it are "acceptable" - others think they're wonderful, and some others are not satisfied and want a higher resolution camera for that. Having more pixels will allow you to crop some of the photo away and still get a decent sized print.