Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Jan 19, 2003, 11:18 AM   #1
Default S30\S40\S45?

Hi. I'm new to the digital world of cameras and was looking for some advice. I visited my local Circuit City yesterday to look at digicams. I looked at the Oly c4000, 720UZ, and the Canon 230. I can't believe how small the Canon 230 was. They couldn't get it tuned on for some reason on their display model so I really didn't get to see it much. However I was able to turn on both the Oly c4000 and 720UZ. The 720UZ looks like something I may be interested in because of the zoom but that's not the most important thing. Image quality(low light, focus, sharpness, low noise etc...), ease of use and low red-eye is what I'm looking for. I know that red-eye is a challenge on small digi cams but the less the better. I read a few bad reviews on the 720UZ especially on focus and low light image quality. Should I stay away from the 720?. What about the 700 or 730? Any better than the 720?

One last thing, they did not have the S30, S40 or S45 on display. I asked the guy who was helping me and I asked him why. To my surprise he told me that the S30 and S40 are discontinued models. I asked if he was sure and said yes. Is that right? He said that the S45 is a new model and they didn't receive it yet. Hasn't the S45 been out for a while now? I was surprised they didn't have a display model of the S45 yet.
jeepzj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 22, 2003, 2:06 PM   #2