Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Nov 5, 2005, 2:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 16

I was at my local Best Buy looking at cameras..Looking to spend$300 bucks or below for a digital camera.. After looking at this camera it seemed really nice.. The picture takes really fast and some of the options seemed great on the camera.. I've seen the review on this site for the camera which is great.. Does anybody have this camera and if so how is it so far?? It does seem like a good camera to get.. Please advise on suggestions or comments..

Thanks, Dx
Dxtra30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 5, 2005, 9:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
pineywoodsman's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 189

I don't think the A610's image quality is as good as the Canon A95 model it replaced. There seems to be some more vignetting and barrel distortion. I'm not saying it's a bad camera, but I wouldn't get it. I do think if you want a newer 5mp model you're better off with an Olympus C-5500. Takes those expensive xD cards, but image quality seems better than the A610. Plus you get 5x zoom and more manual controls.
pineywoodsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2005, 5:21 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4

The A610 is my first camera. Ever. I looked at a number of cameras in this price range $300 and went with the a610. I've had the camera for about 1 month and took lots of photos. I really like the camera. If you go with the a610 I think you should get a few other items. I got a battery charger from Maha Engery Corp. The model number is MH-C401FS also got 8 batteries. You should also get a larger memorey card. I went with a Scan Disk 512mb. The batteries that came with the camera were dead.
So, go out and get this camera. And have fun playing with it. You won't be disappointed.

a610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2005, 11:34 AM   #4
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10

I own an A610,it`s a great camera,but WARNING:they say in this review the camera has remote capture,it`s a lie.Only A620 has this option.It seems to be the only difference between the two models (and of corse 5MP instead of 7MP).
Dan P is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.