Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Jan 1, 2006, 12:57 PM   #1

My mind is essentially made up to purchase a new Canon A620 as a replacemnt for my recently deceased A20. I ordered a new 2GB hi-speed SD card for $108 (after $30 rebate). My local Costco ($344 plus 2% back) is closed today, so I have time to look at other things for the A620.

I am an old SLR photographer. Back in the day, I would never consider using a lens on any camera without at least a UV haze filter. I never worried about that with my A20. In fact one of the things I enjoyed about my A20 was I could carry it without having to carry a bag with other lens, flash, 35mm film, etc. I happen to notice a lens adapter is available for the A620. Canon makes a plastic one & I found another site which uses spun aluminum. The latter comes in two sizes: 52 & 58mm for other filters and lens. So my first question is why? I'm wondering how many of you use the filters or the wide/telephoto lens?

Amazon sells something called soft Canon case. Long gone is the day of thick molded leather cases. I noticed another thread addressing which case? In the 3-4 years of using my A20, I stopped using a case 3 years ago when it disappearred on a trip to Japan. Despite that, the camera withstood the rigors of being banged around and shows only a few tiny scratches. I have to reread the case thread.