Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Mar 31, 2003, 4:32 AM   #1
Default Suggestions on Canon A70

I'm new to digital photography, and want to buy my first digital camera. I read the review on the new A70 and now I would like to see some opinions from people how own one (pros and cons). I'm intrested in picture quality and manual options.

Thanks, Robert
mrobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 31, 2003, 12:57 PM   #2
Default A70

Cons, the software isn't the greatest, then again if I liked to read manuals it just might be better, red eye a bit of a problem but that can be fix in software.Make sure you get a 2 sets of NMH rechargeable batts (8 AA's) as it eats power like nobodys business. Pros, a very good camera for the price, Lens upgradable lots of manual control, as well as a great point & shoot camera, ergonomics are the best I have felt (that was important to me) I have only taken pics inside as of yet & all were very good, I took some macro shots of flowers pics turn out pretty good. It uses CF memory cards in which are the cheapest priced out there, & the fact that I can use double "A" batteries was a bonus too.
So all of this comes out be a pretty good camera. This is my first digital camera as well. My suggestion is buy it, the best bang for the buck.
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2003, 1:59 PM   #3

1) Price vs performance is ahead of the curve (in the UK at least)
2) Nice design, feels solid enough, responsive.
3) Good quality photos straight from the cam. Low noise (@ISO64).
4) Decent(ish) software bundle

1) 4.8 Apeture at full zoom is too slow for UK/Spring weather - unless you have a very steady hand.
2) The LCD is small and not very good.
3) No control over sharpening and some think its set too soft.