Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Apr 11, 2003, 11:27 AM   #1
Default S230 X A70 X P72 - HELP, please!!

Hi all!!

Well, a friend of mine is in the US right now, about to purchase my first digital-camera, and where i'm located (Brasil), i cant go to a store and pick them up and compare, so i'm basically stuck with deciding which model to go for based on sample pics on websites and user reviews, so...

PLEASE, HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

here's the whole deal:

First off, i must say that 99% of the pics will be of my kids, 99% of the times shot at night and in a very low-light condition. After transfering them to the puter, the best ones will be taken to the lab to be developed, at the default 10x15 cm (inches??) resolution. Also, i'm a very amateur photographer who knows zip about lighting and etc, and etc, and just care about having a good, CLEAR, UNNOISY, "faithfull to the original" image quality. so....

at first, I was geared towards the P72, basically because its a SONY, and i always like SONY stuff. But...

I borrowed a P7 from a friend, and i found the pics rather disapointing... in general, they looked pale, colors washed out and very grainny, noisy when shooting at low light conditions (indoors at night). From the P72 samples i found on this very website and on this forum, posted by users, i got the same impression when compared to Canon's models pic samples. Am i right or is it just my confused impression?

I really liked the samples i found here at Steves and a the pics some friends of mine makes with one S30 and one G2. Very colorfull ones, very clear, not washed out like the P72. If you compare Steves samples for both (P72 and A70), you'll notice that very easily.

Basically my question is: under the conditions and usage i described above, which one should i go for: A70 or S230?? Please, remember the low-light indoor pics, where the P72 really fails...

A70 and S230 users outhere, PLEASE, help!!