Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Jul 11, 2006, 5:13 PM   #1

I've been reading in this forum that a lot of users have not had good success taking pictures in the auto mode with the S3. I'm a novice user but I'd like to think that in the future I may learn enough about photography to want to use the added features of a meatier camera than just a plain point-and-shoot.

In the meantime, while I don't know all the ins & outs of ISO, can I expect quality pictures from the S3 in auto mode?

I'm the mother of 3 small children who are fast movers. Don't want to have to constantly readjust settings or I'll miss good shots. Like the 10x optical zoomwith the IS. Plan to keep this camera for many years (I'm so sick of doing camera research!!) I'm a point and shooter now but I aspire to more (but that may not happen in the very near future).

Is this camera a good match for me or should I keep looking?

I'd considered the Sony when I was shopping for my first digital camera but I didn't like the colors. That was 5 years ago though so maybe that's changed.

whimzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2006, 1:27 PM   #2