Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Aug 22, 2006, 12:54 PM   #1

Good morning, im new in photography and very eager to learn the most, after Reading Steve Reviews i bought this great digital camera, yet i see in other reviews there is a section about lenses reviews (Wide Angle, Telephoto, Macro) that can be attached to the camera in evaluation(e.g. DSC S60), as i see in the Powershot a700 Advanced User Guide some canon lenses that can be attached i was wondering if there's any special Steve's reviews or recomendation on that topic (a700+lenses), i'd like to have Wide Angle and Telephoto lenses yet i've been told that due to the focal distance range (5.8 - 34.8mm 1:2.8 - 4.8 ) of this camera lenses won't be of much help.

Another thing, in M (manual) mode is it normal not being able to control Exposure?

Thanks a lot for your answers.

ellanosv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 31, 2006, 4:01 PM   #2

The a700 has a 6x zoom lens, so at telephoto end you are shooting with aboutthe same magnification that a 35 mm camera would with a 210 mm lens attached. That is about the top end for most people to hand-hold a camera. If you add a telephoto attachment to that, you are almost certain to need a tripod to avoid visible blurring from your hand shake. There will also be issues of edge sharpness.

At the wide-angle end you could consider the add-on lens, and it will take you out to the equivalent of about 28 mm, if I remember correctly. I would expect a bit of perspective distortion, but I haven't read up on it. You can decide for yourself whether the cost of the adapter plus the lens is worth adding that little bit to your zoom range.