Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Canon

Old Aug 24, 2006, 8:11 PM   #1

I am a newbie in this forum and I am very interested in getting input from you all.

I am planning to buy the Canon S3 IS,which I have read the reviews and I think it fits my budget. My questions are as follows.

1. Is there a Night feature mode in this camera.

2. can the shutter speedbe adjustable below 1/60 sec, for example 1/8
sec or 1/4 sec.

3. What Add-on lens canbe used on the S3 IS. If some one could give a link for a website where there are good compatible add-on lens, telephoto, wide angle. I have read in tis forum and other placesabout the add-on lens but it had not been clear to me aboutwhat are the good add-on lens,which company add-on lens should I buy,which website from, average cost etc.

4. Is there a website which is dedicated to the canon S3 IS features accesories and information in details.

5. How have the owners of the S3 felt about their investment. Does anyone regret buying it or would recommend any other camera.

I would like to thank you guys in advance . I have leart a lot about camera and photography just by reading this forum. Keep up the good work.

sid369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 24, 2006, 9:45 PM   #2

1. Probably same as the S2 IS. Yes.
2. Of course
3. Add on lens is probably the same as S2IS also, but any 58mm will fit.
Tele-converter 1.5x lens (TC-DC58B)
Wide-converter 0.75x lens (WC-DC58A)
Lens Adapter/Hood Set (LAH-DC20)
Close-Up Lens 500D (58mm)
4. One of them: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0602/06022111canons3is.asp
5. I have an S2 IS. Planning to upgrade to dSLR.

Enjoy your research.

Jackco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2006, 10:42 PM   #3

Thanks for the information.

Can any of you post pictures of your accesories for the S3 IS that you have purchased with the name and the site you got it from, that would be great .

Old Aug 25, 2006, 5:03 AM   #4