Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Casio

Old Jun 27, 2003, 8:03 AM   #1
Default QV-5700 Review

Having recently bought a Casio QV-5700, I've just read its review here on this site, and I think it's about the most thorough review I've read of anything, anywhere! So far I'm very pleased with the camera. I have just a couple of points to add…

1. I'm on my second specimen of QV-5700, as my first had a speck of dust or other defect on the CCD, resulting in the same shaped 5x5 pixel spot in the same place on every frame, regardless of camera setings. How common are defects like this? Many people wouldn't have noticed it, but I first spotted it as a bright green spot on a grey slate roof, and only some time later realised that the green spot was also present on the predominantly green shots I'd taken, and also a brown spot on a brown background. It would have been disastrous if I was a portait photographer! My dealer swapped it without question.

2. The sensitivity defaults to 50ASA, which seems slow to me for routine handheld photography these days. I've said more about this in the 'General Q&A' thread on ISO ratings.