Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Close-ups

Old Nov 16, 2004, 10:56 AM   #1

This guy's a regular at my yard. Does anyone know what kind of spider it is?

I'm new at photography and just got my Powershot S1 IS only a month ago so please excuse the picture:-)
Attached Images

Oculus Sinister is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 23, 2004, 9:08 PM   #2

not sure what kind it is...but i love the angle you shot it at...

Willow
willow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2004, 11:04 PM   #3

It's from the Orb Weaver family, but the name slips my ming at the moment,

That abdomin is a dead give a way. When it comes to me. Probably when I am not trying to think of it, I will post the name. In the meantime I like the angle of the shot too. I wish there was just a touch more light on it.

Nice capture.

smac
smac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2004, 5:43 AM   #4

Thanks for your input on the shot, I'm a newbie and appreciate your comments. Took another picture of my friendly neighborhood spider asit changed location. This time I used flash fill so those who are into entomology can better identify the arachnid. It usually weaves his web high up so its hard to get a good angle. Once identified, does anyone know the lifespan of this guy, it's been in my garden for about 6 months now and its head, thorax and abdomen measure around 1.5 inches in length with a leg span of about 5 inches.:-)
Attached Images

Old Nov 24, 2004, 6:21 AM   #5

Oculus Sinister wrote:
Quote:
...its head, thorax and abdomen measure around 1.5 inches in length with a leg span of about 5 inches.:-)
Yikes!!!:shock:That is one seriously frightening beast.

I like the first shot. The colours and DOF and implied action are, um.... appealing.

Ah...Wheredo you live? (I've got a deep-seated childhood fear of opthalmologists... I mean spiders)

Regards,

Tom, on Point Pelee, Canada
Tom Overton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2004, 9:30 AM   #6