Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Close-ups

Old Jun 9, 2005, 12:09 AM   #1

IMAGE REMOVED..sorry.

Hi :bye:

Been trying out a diopter for macro. I'm not sure how I like it yet. Seems to be a very fine line between sharpness and blur. Has anyone else used a diopter?

StitchBabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 9, 2005, 11:24 AM   #2

Hi, love the picture, im new to photography, and have been trying my hand, with a 105mm sigma.

I was just wondering what a diopter was? cause it obviously works

Cheers
londonting2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2005, 4:17 PM   #3

A diopter is a second lens, goes on like a filter than works like a magnifying glass, not the same as a macro lens even though the end result is the same.

Just got a set yesterday, this is an excellent shot, what type camera do you use and what size diopter?

Randy O

randy o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2005, 11:02 AM   #4

londonting2 wrote:
Quote:
Hi, love the picture, im new to photography, and have been trying my hand, with a 105mm sigma.

I was just wondering what a diopter was? cause it obviously works

Cheers

Hi there,

Thanks a bunch! A diopter is a handy gadget that screws onto an existing lens which enables you to get closer to your subject than you normally can with your lens. It's kinda fun to work with! :-)
Old Jun 10, 2005, 11:05 AM   #5

randy o wrote:
Quote:
A diopter is a second lens, goes on like a filter than works like a magnifying glass, not the same as a macro lens even though the end result is the same.

Just got a set yesterday, this is an excellent shot, what type camera do you use and what size diopter?

Randy O

Hi Randy,

Thanks! I used a Canon digital Rebel (300D) and the diopter I used was a 500D for 70-300mm lenses. Have fun with your new set! :-)
Old Jun 10, 2005, 12:38 PM   #6