Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Color Laser Printers

Old Jun 7, 2006, 8:57 PM   #1

I know this question has been asked in many different forms but since new printers are coming out more often I thought I would ask it again. I am a wedding photographer and want to purchase a color laser printer upto $2000 to print photos to be bound for an album for the clients. Which printer prints photo the best or are they pertty much the same? I am looking at oki n7550. I tried the oki 5500 but not satisfied with the prints or will I never be satisfied. I love my inkjet but want something fast and cost effective. Any help could be appreciated.

thank you
jazlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 8, 2006, 10:09 PM   #2

Sorry, I have no experience about OKI Data but my customer tested Avision (http://www.avision.com/usa/) MFP AM6220 one month ago and its print engine is delivered from OKI Data. The testing result was very satisfactory. I had a little bit of surprising because the printing language is GDI and it is not sophisticated. Regularly, I do not recommend GDI for photographic printing.

I do not know what you were unsatisfied? Sharpness or color saturation (too white)? Before my customer to test Avision MFP AM6220, I always advised again and again about "slow down printing speed". Hope you may check the paper thickness (weight)!

Wedding photography is a wonderful application for photography printed by laser printer. Three months ago, one person requested me help to print one series wedding pictures by laser printer. The reason is the pictures still are possible to turn-yellowish for long time although frame it. This person hope to use synthetic paper to resist it. I used HP CLJ 2550L to print because 2605 did not yet release. The printing quality was always very poorat beginning. At last, I found these image filesare RGB format[/b]!

Norman

kolorwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2006, 4:55 PM   #3