Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Computers and Operating Systems

Old Dec 9, 2011, 6:05 AM   #1

Default Should I buy more ram or a dedicated hard-drive?

Hello,

I recently bought a Mac Pro http://www.macmall.com/p/6218504 but I want to be able to edit and render video files faster than how I'm able to at the moment.

What would be the best solution? More RAM or some kind of external firewire 800 hard-drive to keep the files I'm editing on? Or something else?
I've currently just editing on the Mac's hardd rive and haven't added any extra ram or anything.

I'm new to all this so if you know what would help best, I'd greatly appreciate your advice.

Thanks,
Rob.
Zickzackduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2011, 7:07 AM   #2
Administrator

Hey Rob:

I've moved this thread down to our Computers and Operating Systems Forum, which is setup for questions about computers and operating systems.

According to that listing, the CPU in that model is a XEON W3530, which should have identical performance to the Core i7 930 (same specs, except that the W3530 supports ECC memory), so that's a pretty good processor for video editing.

Of course, the Operating System and software come into the equation, and I don't use a Mac. So, perhaps some of our Mac users will chime in. To take better advantage of the extra memory, your operating system and apps should be 64 bit. But, even if you use a 32 bit app under a 64 bit OS, you still have more memory available to each individual app (and extra memory will also be used for disk caching). So, as long as your OS supports more memory, adding more should help out.

With only 3GB of memory in that box as shipped, I'd upgrade it.