Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Computers and Operating Systems

Old Feb 29, 2012, 1:03 PM   #1

Default How many varieties of Linux?

When looking at a website about Linux Mandriva, I discovered that it lists 21 different varieties - from ALT Linux to Zenwalk. This is the URL - http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2011/09/01...p-2011-review/

I've tried several of them - Ubuntu, Mint, Mandriva, gOS, and Parsix. The first three of those have too many bells & whistles for my liking. Mandriva was the most frustrating because often, if I clicked on something to see what it did - it certainly did whatever it was - but I could find no way to undo it.

On the other hand gOS seemed to be a bit simpler and installed much faster than any other. And it included Wine (something I've never used before). Using Wine I found I could install both Faststone Image Viewer and Photoshop. On the other hand, after doing that, Firefox stopped operating properly. gOS incidentally has an interface that looks a bit like that of Macs. It also has some very large and ugly and ikons on its opening page, but they can be easily deleted.

Parsix seems (to me) to be a bit more sophisticated than gOS.

Has anybody else tried these or any of the other versions among the 21 listed? What do you think of them?

While doing this I was also persuaded to try out a system called Reactos. The descriptions of it sounded interesting, but I got nowhere with it....

Last edited by Herb; May 24, 2012 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Syntax correction
Herb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 29, 2012, 1:22 PM   #2
Administrator

There are hundreds of different [current] Linux distributions, and I've tried hundreds of them (sometimes a lot of different versions of some of the more popular distros as newer versions are released).

Linux is only the underlying kernel.