Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Jan 12, 2004, 12:20 AM   #1

Default new to digiscoping questions

I've enjoyed telephoto shooting with 35mm. As I'm considering a DSLR rig, I'm finding digiscoping very interesting. But I'm new to it- does it make more sense to use a more basic point and shoot digital that attaches right to a telescope, or a DSLR camera body? If I go the route of a DSLR, does a telephote lens get attached to a telescope mount, or does the body attach, via adapter, directly to a telescope? (In other words, is there an advantage to having a good telephoto lens?). Where can I find more basic info (i.e. what's an entry level telescope..or other options...?)? Thanks much for any suggestions!
Kurt
turtleboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 12, 2004, 6:50 AM   #2

Kurt,

For digiscoping I chose a Nikon CP4500 that connects to my telescopes 32X eyepiece. From tests this gives me an effective focal length of about 1600mm, and by the time I zoom in a little to clear any vignetting, I'm normally working at about 2000-2400mm. This gives you a nice light-weight set-up that's fairly quick to set up in the field.

If you get a DSLR camera body then you can, with a suitable photo adapter and camera adapter ring, attach the camera body to the telescope with the eyepiece removed. With my Leica APO 77 this can give you a fully manual 800mm f11. With the DSLR body you've also got the option of buying other auto-focus lenses to fill in the closer ranges. This can plug the gap to a certain extent between the telephoto lenses that a number of people can afford and the 3,500 and over super-super telephotos.

A third option is to go for the DSLR with something like a 50mm lens and use this for Digiscoping. I've seen threads of the D100 used in this manner but the set-up is heavy and looks clunky to set up.