Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Jul 10, 2012, 9:09 AM   #1

Default Digiscoping Help Needed

I am a somewhat serious wildlife photographer and would like to expand into digiscoping. I am very interested in getting a spotting scope, separate digital camera, tripod and any necessary adapters for hooking all up. I do have a limited budget however. Can anyone offer advice as to the equipment I should get?

Thanks in advance!!!
Don Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 11, 2012, 3:59 PM   #2

If your buget is limited, you would be best off buying one of those mirror scopes made by Meade or Celestron. They are more delicate than spotting scopes, but have better optics than all but the best spoting scope. If, you're planning to get an SLR, then these scopes have optional camera adapters, if not, you can use an adapter to hook them up to a digicam. You WILL need a good tripod with a digicam...

Here's a link to give you an idea about adapters...
DIGISCOPING.co.uk - Sponsored by London Camera Exchange

B&H and others, sell any possible adapter that you would want.

Dave
Chato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2012, 8:21 PM   #3

If you are a serious wildlife photographer, digiscoping may not be your best option. A decent DSLR and a zoom lens with a minimum 300mm top end is a good start. Prime telephoto lenses in the 400 to 600mm range are ideal. Used with teleconverters allow even more power. One bad thing about digiscoping is the light loss, however, if you can find a P&S camera that will produce little noise at high ISO's, it will alleviate that problem. Digiscoping is best done with motionless subjects. There is alot to learn and much to be found on the internet regarding this subject. I will always be happy to answer your questions if I can.
100-300mm Minolta Maxxum APO Zoom
70-300 Sony apo G SSM Zoom
Streets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2012, 2:59 PM   #4

Quote: