Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Feb 14, 2004, 6:37 PM   #1

Default Fuji / Mighty Midget Digiscope

I have a Fuji S5000 and am extremely happy with it. however after a few weeks of searching forums it seems to be less than appropriate for digiscoping (Big Lens Big Zoom) i have looked long and hard for a scope to match my Fuji and i have taken a liking to the Mighty Midget 2.again i have seen mixed reviews about this scope. My scope budget is limited (200 pounds).but i donít want to waste time & money on a non starter. I am an engineer so i have no restriction on making adaptors if i need to. Go easy on my Fuji please

Many Thanks

Grant Cumming :?:
Scotland
mrcumming is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 1, 2004, 9:07 PM   #2

Grant -

I use a Fugi s7000 (big lens, big zoom) with a scopetronix Maxview 40 adapter and a Pentax 80ED scope. I get some vignetting with this combination but I can crop this out and still have plenty left for printing. Most scopes loose a lot on the perimiter of the image anyway, so in most cases vignetting is not a problem for birding.
Getting accurate focus and accurate color is much more of a problem for less expensive scopes.
Also comsider how portable you want your set-up to be. The smaller lighter scopes give you much better mobility and most of the performance and usually cost a lot less.
Bring your camera in to the scope shop and hold it up to the eyepiece to give it a test.
Good luck in your effort.
Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2004, 11:00 PM   #3

You might want to read this:

http://www.birdforum.net/reviews/sho...php?product=37

Quote:
My first scope. Bought with the 25x mm2 eypiece.
Very easy to use with a lightweight tripod so is the ideal travel scope. I would recommend some kind of stay-on-case to protect against dust and water.
It is not easy to use the dedicated 25x mm2 eyepiece for digiscoping ( Glass rather small ).