Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Oct 21, 2002, 5:53 PM   #1

Default Digiscoping with Kowa TSN-823 & Dimage 7Hi

I'm interested in Digiscoping, I have a 82mm Kowa TSN-823 with a 20x60 zoom eyepiece. I'm think of buying the new Minolta DiMAGE 7Hi to adapt to my scope. The Kowa people tell me I need a (1) TSN DA1 Digital Camera Adapter, (2) TSN-DA1-ARZ7 Zoom Extension Ring, and (3) a Adapter Ring to fit the 49mm Minolta Lens, be it a Step-up to 52mm or a Step-down to their 43mm.

I have no previous experience in Digiscoping and could sure use some help and advise as to wheather anyone is currently using this set-up, or any general advise about using the 7Hi for Digiscoping. I also need information about a extend-a-shade for 7hi LCD.

A new member,

Gary Aspenall
San Jose, CA.
glaspenall is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 23, 2002, 6:14 AM   #2

The Minolta may be a very unwise buy as far as digiscoping goes... (from looking at the specs rather than any first hand experience), sure someone will be happy to sell you an adapter to fit the two together....but they won't be promising any results.
Nikon cp990/995/4500 are the cameras that will produce good results, a few other cameras can produce good results.... those with large diameter lenses and powerful built-in zooms (often one and the same) usually result in frustration for digiscoping.
Regards,
Andy B
Andybrightuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2002, 5:56 PM   #3

Default Kwoa & D7Hi

Thanks Andy B for your quick response and opinion.

I'm hoping this was'nt a mistake, As of today, I now own the Minolta 7Hi and are awaiting the ordered adapters from Kowa, I know I'm going to have some vignetting problems with a 52mm step-up but hope to be able to edit or crop out the black on the computer. I guess I'm in for a dime in for dollar at this point. However I will be reporting on my success or problems for others to learn from.