Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Jun 6, 2005, 5:25 PM   #1

It looks like the nikon cp4500 is the way to go as far as a camera. I am not sure how much zoom I would get with the camera and the williams mount on a Pentax 80mm. I think that you take out the 20x60 eyepiece in order to put in the williams adapter. Is this correct? What would be the zoom range with this setup? Also, I have the panasonic fz20. Am I correct in assuming that I would not be able to get any quality photos with this camera, because the lense is to large? As you can see, I have no experience and would appreciate your opinions.
utah450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 8, 2005, 10:03 PM   #2

I have a 4500 mated to a Pentax pf 80ed and I have great zoom capabilities with it using 20mm to 40mm eyepieces using the scopetronics t-thread adapter. BUT, I did previously have a Sony cd400 mounted to the same scope and although there was a bit of vignetting at lower zoom, there is absolutely NO comparison with picture quality at high zoom. I'm on vacation as I write this and was comparing pic quality from last years photos using the Sony and I'm thouroughly disappointed, not to mention that I have to send off the 4500 to be repaired now that there is a loud grinding noise as the camera starts up and shuts down. Hope you have better luck than I did. I have many accessories for the 4500 if you need any....remote shutter release, battery charger/power dc cord, filter set.
Bayoublaster400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2005, 12:34 AM   #3

Quote: