Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Feb 18, 2003, 6:55 PM   #1

Default ETX 90 Spotting Scope & CP995

I recently picked up a used ETX 90 Spotting Scope to use with my Nikon CP 995.

As I am new to the concept of Digiscoping, I was just wondering if there are any preferred settings that I should use on the camera such as Manual Focus vs Auto Focus, Aperature setting etc.

Any advice to get me going in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Rob
grumpy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 19, 2003, 10:07 AM   #2

I find using autofocus and macro mode works best for me. I also use focus confirmation. If you don't already have it, you will need an Extend-a-View to let you really get close enough to fine focus. I don't recommend continuous autofocus, but rather autofocus with half press of shutter.

Aperture will depend a great deal on available light. Smaller aperture settings tend to minimize chromatic aberration and especially blooming (blue/purple fringing) in bright areas of sky meeting vegetation, but smaller apertures are not always possible because of lighting.

Perhaps the most important thing of all is shutter release. It's nearly impossible to hand press the shutter without moving the camera/scope. Timed release will work by giving the vibrations time to die down, but if you really want the very best method I've found, think seriously about getting a DigiSnap 2000. The DigiSnap is, in my experience, quite superior to Nikon's own shutter release. It will let you focus, zoom and snap the shutter without actually moving the camera at all. Highly recommended. Below are links to the manufacturer of the Xtend-a-View (PhotoSolve) and DigiSnap line of shutter release products (Harbortronics).

http://www.photosolve.com

http://www.harbortronics.com

Lin
Lin Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2003, 5:54 PM   #3