Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Jun 8, 2002, 1:36 PM   #1

Default Digiscoping with Olympus C-3020

Howdy!

I'm quite new to digital photography and already want to get closer to my subject than the 3x zoom on my Olympus will allow. I was looking into telephoto lenses then came across using a spotting scope instead. I've been researching digiscoping a bit and would like to buy a scope and get extreme closeups, but most of the cameras I see mentioned are small lens nikons. I recently bought and enjoy a C-3020 that I use with a Tiffen adapter tube and a polarizing or uv filter on the camera at all times for protection. The lens size is 43mm with the adapter, 41mm with out, I believe. Is this an acceptable camera to use for this purpose? How would I go about inexpensively adapting this to a scope?
I'm also looking at the plethora of scopes on the market and would like some feedback on a decent quality, low cost product ($150 or less) which would work with my camera. The Sakar brand seems the cheapest and at this time, that's the direction I'm leaning. It seems to me that an adjustable zoom, say 12x - 60x would be most useful and versitile. Is this true or is a fixed zoom just as good?
I would really appreciate any comments,suggestions, or explanations that you might have for me. Like I said, I am very new to digital photography and am thoroughly enjoying my new camera and learning more about the process. This forum has been extremely helpful in my research and exploration of a new passion. Thanks in advance for your imput.

Jason
Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 8, 2002, 3:04 PM   #2

The 41 to 43mm lens diameter is larger than the ocular of most scopes (approx 37mm) and will cause vignetting of the image. Some scope makers may have a camera adapter for 35mm that may work.

You probably would do best getting a scope from ebay used for that price. I am not familiar with the Sakar brand