Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Jan 11, 2006, 12:40 PM   #1

Hi, Can anyone help me with this problem, I'm a newbie so forgive any errors.

I own a Canon Powersot S30, and have inherited a Nikon Fieldscope ED and a Canon T70 SLR camera.

I would like to try digiscoping between the S30 and the Fieldscope and need some help with the required adapters.

I also inherited a Kowa lens adapter that allows me to connect the Fieldcsope to the Canon T70 bayonet lens mount, ie like an FD lens.

Can I connect this FD lens to my Powershot S30?

Or is their another way to connect the scope to the S30?
gkeable is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 12, 2006, 12:02 AM   #2

gkeable wrote:
Quote:
Hi, Can anyone help me with this problem, I'm a newbie so forgive any errors.

I own a Canon Powersot S30, and have inherited a Nikon Fieldscope ED and a Canon T70 SLR camera.

I would like to try digiscoping between the S30 and the Fieldscope and need some help with the required adapters.

I also inherited a Kowa lens adapter that allows me to connect the Fieldcsope to the Canon T70 bayonet lens mount, ie like an FD lens.

Can I connect this FD lens to my Powershot S30?

Or is their another way to connect the scope to the S30?
The way you have to approach this is afocal - that is you need to bring the objective (front) lens of the Canon in close proximity to the ocular (eyepiece) of the Fieldscope.