Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 21, 2006, 7:07 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default

Hello.
I currently have a Olympus e-300 and would like to digiscope with it. I have no idea what I am doing so I have a few questions.
I have found a spotting scope that I would like to try a Celestron 15-60x60mm (60mm Pro Zoom spotting scope), with a Celestron camera adapter. It calls for a T-mount with it that says it is for a Olympus, but it does not give a specific Olympus. Are all the T-mounts for a Olympus the same size?
I am really very ignorant on the matter but would seriously like to try digiscoping.
Can anyone help me? I have some eagles near by building a nest and I would like to capture the different stages.
2thewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 21, 2006, 8:56 AM   #2
DBB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,483
Default

2thewind wrote:
Quote:
Hello.
I currently have a Olympus e-300 and would like to digiscope with it. I have no idea what I am doing so I have a few questions.
I have found a spotting scope that I would like to try a Celestron 15-60x60mm (60mm Pro Zoom spotting scope), with a Celestron camera adapter. It calls for a T-mount with it that says it is for a Olympus, but it does not give a specific Olympus. Are all the T-mounts for a Olympus the same size?
I am really very ignorant on the matter but would seriously like to try digiscoping.
Can anyone help me? I have some eagles near by building a nest and I would like to capture the different stages.
One end of the T-mount screws into the adapter, the other matches the standard lens mount of Olympus. in other words, one end of the mount can be thought of as a typical Olympus lens mount.

Dave
DBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2006, 12:29 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Hi hope I'm not too late on this one...

The Olympus E300 does not use the Standard Olympus mount but a 4/3 (Four Thirds) mount.

If the scope you buy will accept a T2 mount you can obtain a 4/3 mount to use with it (mine came from e-bay about £30 UK)

Also remember that using the e300 as opposed to a standard SLRcan have an effect on magnification eg a 50mm lens for a film camera would become a 100mm lens on the e300! My zoom slide copier that t-mounts to thee300 will not do 1 to 1 the lowest magnification is now 2x.



good luck


clansfolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2006, 9:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 77
Default

Be interested to see how your photos come out once you get started.



I'm also about to take the leap into digiscoping, but I plan todo it with the e500 or maybe the sp500uz or even both..
Tat2dGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.