Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Apr 4, 2003, 9:41 PM   #1

Default can I digiscope??

i'm new to photography in general, so i was just wondering, would i be able to attach a scope of some kind to an Olympus E20? if so where do i start? what do i look for?
probert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2003, 6:04 PM   #2

Hi,

You "can," but truthfully, I don't think it would be a very satisfactory solution - here's why.

The E20 is very prone to vignetting. Just try to zoom back a little with your TCON-14B attached, or a TCON-300, and you immediately get into vignetting. When you connect the E20 to any telescope, you must do it in an "afocal" manner. That is you will need an adapter to physically hold the objective lens of the E20 in immediate proximity to an eyepiece on the telescope.

To do this with a large objective like you have on the E20, you would need a VERY large eyepiece ocular. Something like the ScopeTronix max 40 would let you use the E20 at full zoom only, and still with significant vignetting. This would work for celestial photos such as the moon, etc., where the blackness of surrounding space obscures and hides the blackness of the vignetting (shadowing around the periphery of the image). But to use if for terrestrial digiscoping (birds, wildlife, etc.) the disadvantage of not having any zoom range make it less than an optimal solution.