Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old Jul 5, 2006, 2:30 PM   #1

Hello all. I'm totally new to digiscoping/birding but am interested in trying it out. What I'm hoping to find is help on a less expensive beginner setup. For example, I previously had a Nikon Coolpix 990 which many suggested the Kenko 8x32 monocular scope for a good inexpensive beginner setup (only I never got to it before). I recently got a newer Sony DSC-W7 (loved the 990, but wanted compatability with my PSP for reviewing) and would love suggestions on how to get a similar setup with that, hoping to stay under a couple hundred dollars. (I believe the Kenko was ~$150 with an adapter). The only thing I know for sure is that Sony says it requires an adapter (30mm I believe) which is one of those tube type, I'm assuming because it has a lense that pops out about the length of that adapter when it's turned on.
Thanks all for any help, can't wait to get started!
P.S., any suggestions also for thrid party wide angle lenses vs. the Sony brand ones? The Sony lenses seem to be about double the price of the others I've come across (Kenko, Crystal Optics, etc) so I'm wondering if they are really worth the extra price or if there are 3rd party ones that are just as good.
wesblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 12, 2006, 7:47 PM   #2

wesblake wrote:
Quote: