Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Digiscoping/Digital Photomicroscopy

Old May 23, 2003, 7:30 PM   #1

Default Please help me with some easy questions......

Hi,

I own a HP850 (same lens as the Fuji 4900Z).

I LOVE the digiscoping pictures I see over het web, however I'm a bit stunned by the sites from for example eagle eye.

I would not know what I need, I do have a conversion tube 52-55 from Raynox for the DCR1540, what do I need to get a digiscoping setup, I would love to get REALLY close to objects who are far away.

Please be gentle I'm totally new to this, and allready followed some links.

I don't have a telescope yet, are there things I have to take care for with that ?

Greetings,
Frank
Frank Doorhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2003, 3:21 AM   #2

Frank,

I've put together a Microsoft word document on this subject. If you'd like a copy please eMail me.
checklg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2003, 3:33 PM   #3

A Dutch digiscoping group has started at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/DigiscopingNL
This may be a good starting point for you.
Good luck,
Andy
Andybrightuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2003, 3:58 PM   #4

Thanks, will look there right away.

Greetings,
Frank
Old May 25, 2003, 12:23 PM   #5

Hi Frank,
Definitely read all available material on the sites linked. To give you some brief advice, plan on getting a small lens camera like the Nikon CP4500 and you will be well on your way to being able to get great digiscoping images.

The larger lens cameras, though possible to use for this purpose, are not really ideally configured for successful digiscoping. The tiny lenses on the CP series of Nikon cameras work miracles when looking through eyepieces of spotting scopes.