Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Digital Art (modified digicam images)

Old Apr 4, 2005, 10:21 AM   #1

Hey guys,

I'm still a novice at PS and was wondering the best way to get the effect I'm going for. How do you desaturate a photo with the exeption of certain colors on specific objects? I've been playing around with PS with limited success. Thanks in advance.

Gavin
toothlesrooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2005, 11:06 AM   #2

I use PSP but the process should be similar. Do a manual selection of the objects keeping the selection line as close to the edge of the objects as possible. Then invert the selection thus selecting everything but the selected objects. Now do the desaturation.

Cal Rasmussen
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2005, 3:11 PM   #3

One method I use is: Open your image, then click on the 'Create new fill or adjustment layer' at the bottom of the layers palette. Then choose 'Hue/Saturation'. Slide the Saturation control all the way to the left, (-100), this will desaturate your image. Click OK. Thenpick the brush tool, choose a suitable size and depending on how sharp the edges in your image are, set the hardness of the brush. Now press D on your keyboard followed by X. This sets the foreground and background colours to black and white.

Now you just brush over the areas that you want to be in their originalcolours, if you go over the edge, just press the X key and brush over the overspill, then press X again to continue revealing colours. (Painting with black removes the mask, the desaturated layer, revealing the coloursunderneathand painting with white puts the mask back).

Zoom in very close to work, holding the space bar to enable the hand toolto move around your image, remembering to let go to carry on.

Hope this helps.

Stevekin.

Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2005, 9:41 PM   #4

Thanks Stevekin, that's excatly what I was looking for