Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Dye Sublimation

Old Nov 7, 2006, 3:50 PM   #1

I am fairly new to sublimation printing but have been 'practicing' for a few months now and every time I think I have got it sorted I seem to get another problem.

I have an Epson R1800 printer and am using a sublimation bulk system from RA Smart for printing onto mugs, plastics, mousemats etc but I am continually frustrated by what I consider to be the poor colour quality of my prints.

I followed all the instructions for colour profiles etc when I first started although admittedly this was frustrating as it was hard going to a complete novice to follow so possibly this is not 100% correct.

My main gripe is the fact that every few prints I get a message advising me that I am not using the official epson cartridges etc etc, which I already know, but it seems to prevent me from using 1, 2 or more of the colours which could explain why browns & skin pigments printwith agreen tint! Is there someway to override this and tell my pc/photoshop program or whatever to use them anyway or is it a case of making sure the profiles are definately 100%correct, if I can do that?

Any help would be appreciated as it is starting to drive me mad
mark hmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 22, 2006, 1:49 PM   #2

YOUR PROBLEM PROBALLY IS COMING FROM YOUR COLOR MANAGEMENT. WHEN PRINTING WITH SUBLIMATION INKS THAT CARRIES A DRIVER IT WILL THROW YOUR COLORS OFF IF YOU DO NOT TURN OFF THE COLOR MANAGEMENT IN WHATEVER PROGRAM YOU ARE USING. I WILL TRY THIS FIRST
LOVEDOCTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2006, 4:26 PM   #3