Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Dye Sublimation

Old Feb 18, 2004, 5:53 PM   #1

Default dye sub or ink jet?

I'm currently setting up a business targetting corporate events whereby photos will be taken at the beginning of the event and handed out (in a 4x6 frame) at the end of the event. I'm debating on whether to get a dye sub (hi-ti, or canon) or ink jet (canon i960). I currently tested the canon cp-200, i love the quality but concerned about the print speed. The groups in these events will be anywhere from 200 to 400 people. I'm looking for suggestions as to which one to go to. Obviously speed, quality and cost will be the issue.

Your opinions are appreciated.
petria3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 19, 2004, 3:15 PM   #2

I am no expert, but for that number of people, you should probably look at the HiTi 640DL which is their pro version. For that many prints I don't know if the canon can hack it.

For a personal or a business where quantity in a short space of time is not paramount I guess the Canon can work.

Most people here would tell you shop HiTi though as the quality is said to be great and the consumables (ink and paper) are cheaper than the Canon

D
dudlew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2004, 3:55 PM   #3

How long will you have to print the photos? The HiTi will give you great pics but speed is an issue with this printer. The Canon i960 will also provide excellent photos but delivery time is much faster than the HiTi printers.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2004, 9:46 PM   #4

Normally these events will last for 3 to 4 hours, therefore my window is pretty short.

Quick question, do the prints from the i960 produce a high gloss finish as the dye subs?
Old Feb 19, 2004, 9:58 PM   #5

Default CP-300 instead?

petria3,

I am also planning to start a small business providing on-the-spot printing (don't worry, I'm on the other side of the globe in Singapore! ).