Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Dye Sublimation

Old Jan 21, 2005, 2:31 PM   #1

I've been searching around for the Kodak 1400 reviews and it seems to be a quite impresive piece of machine; but then i came to steve's forum and read lots of good reviews about the HiTi730PS.

I'm a graphic designer and also a photographer and i will use the dyesub printer for proofing at A4 size and printing some photos i take for clients and parties, mostly 4x6 and 5x7.

What im asking is: does anyone recommend going for the hiti over the kodak? Can anyone give me the pros and the cons about buying the kodak and the hiti?? I cant make up my mind!! I NEED HEEEEEEELP!!!! :?

Thanks in advance.
Aldans is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2005, 4:20 PM   #2

Hi Aldans,

I have the Hi-Ti 730PS and I'm very happy and pleased with the quality of the machine and the prints are stunning.

You say you want to print A4 size?

If this is correct you will need to buy the Kodak as the Hi-Ti does not print out A4 size.

I have contacted Hi-Ti direct and they are working on an A4 model and they hope it will be available maybe next year.

I have checked the prices in the UK and the Kodak is more expensive to buy and run.

hope this is useful

Ian
IanWgglswrth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2005, 5:24 PM   #3

Ian, Thank You for your reply. My concern was about the price and as you said the kodak is expensier to run and buy than the hiti; so i think that price will be the point on wich to focus to make a decision.

Do you, as a hiti consumer, tryed or saw any kodak 1400 print?? did you have the chance to compare output quality??

I like the kodak one because it has a background on top quality printing but being so spendy i'm considering the hiti and scale down my proofs from A4 to 8x6 wich is a similar size but not quite the same.