Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Oct 10, 2006, 10:21 AM   #1

I have been struggling with correcting the resulting change that my paper & printer make to my images (I'm using an Epson 4000 & Epson Archival Matte paper.) My monitor is a very good NEC CRT monitor that I profile using a Monico Optrix XR Pro. I don't believe my problem is in settings up my hardware.

If I soft proof my prints in Photoshop, I get basically an exact match between the printout and my monitor. But I don't *want* the image with the changes that the paper & ink make. I want the image I see without soft proofing turned on!

Do you have any tips for how to correct the changes that printing makes?

Maybe its just because I'm a software designer, but I think there has got to be a better way.

Does anyone know of a plug-in which will "correct" for the effects of the paper and ink/printer on your image?

If you use Photoshop and turn on soft-proofing (with a calibrated monitor, which I have) you will see what your image should look like when you print it. Often it is slightly darker and less saturated, but the effect varies depending on your printer & paper.

But the computer *knows* the effect the paper & printer will have! Why can't it look at the mappings and see what color in the printer's color space fits what the color was before soft proofing? And then just replace all occurances of the original color with the color that would produce what you *want* on paper? (Yes, it would have to handle colors in the image that your printer can't reproduce - you have that same problem now.)

Yes, this wouldn't work well if it didn't have enough data points in your paper/ink profile. But if you did, why wouldn't this work?

I've never seen any kind of plugin that does this. Am I missing something?

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 12, 2006, 11:04 PM   #2

Eric,