Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Oct 15, 2006, 9:38 PM   #1

Any recommendations on a book to help me learn Photoshop CS?

I'm a total newbie and am quite concerned at starting at the bottom of the curve. I see that there is a Dummies book for this.....can I do better? :-?
cjbigcog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 16, 2006, 9:38 PM   #2

get "The Photoshop CS2 book for digital photographers" by Scott Kelby. It is easy to read and understand and will really help you to understand what CS2 can do for you.

Ronnie,

Also go to: http://WWW.PHOTOSHOPUSER.COM and check out the NAPP. It is well worth the dues and if a member you will receive discounts as well as Photoshop user magazine. They also provide free tutorials for the Members.
Attached Images

Ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2006, 11:43 AM   #3

This is also a great book to learn image retouching and corrections. Great detailed step by step intructions for the first half off the book. But you really do need to know the basicsonce you get into the later chapters as she begins to skip the step by and step and goes more into general process descriptions. . . .
Attached Images

soliz39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2006, 6:46 PM   #4

Can you use these two books without any experience with Photoshop CS2? What I mean is do they assume some basic knowledge to begin with CS2? If yes, are there any good basic step by step books and videos available?
harana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2006, 7:34 AM   #5

I don't have any experience with the second of these books, but I can say that you can be a complete PS Newbie and still use Scott Kelby's book.