Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jan 10, 2007, 8:21 PM   #1

I'm having a hard time deciding whether to make the switch to Photoshop CS2. I have owned Elements for about 5 months and all in all am pretty happy with it except for a few exceptions, one being the limited adjustments I can make in 16 bit mode. I've been shooting all my images in RAW.

If I convert the photo as an 8 bit JPEG, I'm more than happy with everything Elements has to offer, but from what I've been reading on this board, many believe that re-saving an 8 bit jpeg degrades the quality of the image. I've been keeping the original JPEG's and don't plan on "re-saving the edited JPEG any more than once.

I'd describe myself as a "DSLR enthusiast". I'm not a professional, nor do I edit photoss for a living. I don't plan on spending large amounts of time on editing individual images, but I also don't want to be limited by software constraints.

The move to full blown Photoshop will be a costly one - $150 for the class at the technical college and then $300 for the software itself (educational discount).
I guess the big questions I have are -

1. If I open up an 8 bit jpeg, edit this file and then save the edited JPEG, how significant is the loss of detail? (In otherwords can I get by with Elements?)

2. Is the ability to edit in 16 bit mode significant enough to justify going with the full blown version of Photoshop? (I know this is my decision but I'm just looking for opinions).
Just looking for advice from those who may have been down this road before....

Thanks in advance for replies......appreciated much.
cameranoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2007, 9:18 PM   #2

For starters I wouldn't buy CS2 now unless they are offering a deal with an automatic free upgrade to CS3 when it is released. You can upgrade to the beta, but I haven't seen anything about automatic upgrades to CS3.