Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Mar 15, 2007, 10:49 AM   #1

Hi All,

I know a lot of people on this forum use a imaging package to reduce noise and manipulate photographs using a computer, can anyone recommend a good product for the begginer to use that is perhaps not too deep or complicated as I'm new to all this.

I have seen 'Photoshop' mentioned a few times is this a good product to go for?

Many thanks,

Baskerville.
Baskerville is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 15, 2007, 11:45 AM   #2

There are lots of products on the market - some free, some cost money.

A couple points of interest:

1. Noise reduction is best done by specialized software packages that do just that. The packages most widely used for noise reduction are: Noiseware, Neatimage and Noise Ninja. I believe all 3 have scaled-down free versions you can download (just google to find them). Any of these will do much better at noise reduction than standard photo editing software.

2. I would recommend you consider Photoshop Elements (it's the scaled down version of the full Photoshop package - Elemnts sells for $100 or less while the full version of Photoshop CS2 sells for around $600). It's not that Elements is better than some of the other software packages out there, but you can find A LOT MORE help with how to use it. There are plenty of books out there (Scott Kelby has a great book on how to use the package) and a huge amount of users who use the product. So, when you want to find out how to do something you have a lot more people and books familiar with the package. With some of the other packages it can be more difficult to find help on how to use the product.