Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Apr 5, 2007, 9:35 AM   #1

I have some images of landscapes with the sky blown out. This is a very common scenario!

So I tried a simple trick. I used the magic wand to select the sky (the image lent itself well for that) and then used auto levels to change it! Manual level adjustments would have had the same effect though!

The trouble is, when I save the image after that, I find that the image looks ARTIFICIAL. The places where the sky touches the building has odd colours and it looks like the sky was super imposed.

How do I correct this kind of mistake in future? I didn't use layers in this case ( I am new to photoshop, and dnt know much abt anything in it).

Attached is the image i am talking of!

Attached Images

amitr0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 5, 2007, 3:13 PM   #2

The edges are a little easier to deal with if you straighten them some. Aliasing is reduced that way.

It is a lot easier to work on the full sized image for that sort of thing. That particular image is not only lacking pixels but has some extreme compression artifacts. Not worth spending a lot of time on, but edges don't seem to be that big a problem. I have no idea why your edges looked artificial. The compression artifacts are messing up the edges but you wouldn't have that problem with the full sized image. Or even with one using less compression. You should have been able to use a level 10 in Photoshop and still have that sized image small enough to post. It looks like you used around level 3 or did multiple compressions.

For that sort of thing I don't usually use any feathering as I want the edges sharp.

Attached Images

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2007, 1:00 AM   #3