Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Sep 9, 2007, 3:01 PM   #1

Hello,

I've only been a DSLR owner for a few months and have been buying the monthly magazineswith interest.

Most of them seem more keen on teaching you how to use computer editing software than actually using the camera, and as the only editing programme I have on my computer is the freebie Picasa, I feel completely lost and avoid reading anything about layers and so forth as it goes WAY over my head!

Can anyone talk me through the different photo editing softwares please? I can afford Photoshop Elements - currently about £64 on Amazon, I understand it is a slimmed down version of Photoshop. But then that programme is hundreds of pounds (£700+), and I'm just a newbie and have no illusions of grandeur of branching out into sending my pics off to be published :twisted:!!

And of course if I had £700 I'd be buying hardware (lenses etc) for my camera NOT a computer programme!!

Beejygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 9, 2007, 3:21 PM   #2
Super Moderator

I would strongly recommend Adobe Lightroom.

Reasonable price and most of the features you would ever need. Since I have had Lightroom I think I have used Photoshop twice in four months. I used to use it every day.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 5:39 PM   #3

... and I, on the other hand, would not recomend Lightroom (unless you shoot RAW, then maybe).

Instead I would go with the latest version of Photoshop Elements. It offers most of what it's big brother (Photoshop) has to offer. In any event, Elements is a very good program to start with (and it does RAW too!!!).
amazingthailand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2007, 6:43 PM   #4