Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Jan 1, 2008, 2:58 PM   #1

I am brand new to digital photograhy. Looking for an uncomplicated program that has some basicediting, project elements to it. I may want to create something artistic once I learn the basics, but am mostly interested in an easy program for storing and organizingmy photos on my computer. Any reviews, suggestions would be greatly appreciated :-)
jtdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 1, 2008, 3:47 PM   #2

There's probably free options if you really want something basic, but if you're willing to spend money then you should look no further than Adobe Photoshop Elements. It does all of the basic stuff that you want now, but has a whole heap of extra features should you want them in the future and is reasonably priced at around 90USD/60UKP. It's available for PC (version 6) and Mac (version 4). If you have a Mac you may want to hang on for an update as one is long overdue.
MattSwain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2008, 7:52 PM   #3
Administrator

Quote:
...but am mostly interested in an easy program for storing and organizingmy photos on my computer.
Free:

http://picasa.google.com/features/index.html

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2008, 11:54 PM   #4

I have found that organizing photos is best done when you upload them from your camera to your computer. I store my photos by year/month/day, with a folder for each date. To catalog for searching, there are a number of options. I started with Ulead Photoexplorer, and continue with it, but Microsoft has a Windows add-on called MS Photo Info, which is quite capable, and works directly from the OS.

Basic editing can be done with Picasa, as JimC mentions, or with Irfanview, which is also a free program, and doesn't eat a lot of your computer's resources.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2008, 6:53 AM   #5