Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Apr 4, 2008, 8:53 AM   #1

Hi Guys,

Would anybody be able to offer me some advice re Photoshop Elementsver 4 and Windows Vista.

I have been using PS 4 on my main PC running on windows XPfor the last 2 years without any problems, however I have just purchased a new laptop PC with Windows Vista loaded on it.

PS 4 has loaded on OK but when I open it I get a message saying there are issues with PS 4 and Vista, click on the link to Adobe and download a fix to the problem.

However when I click on the link there is not an option there re Vista and if I try to download any of the other PS 4 updates nothing happens and Adobe crashes.

Apologies in advance if this has been discussed elsewhere on here, I did do a search but did not se anything related.

Thank You

Mike
bilirubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2008, 10:40 AM   #2
Administrator

From what I can find out reading through threads about it, there is no patch to make Elements 4.0 more compatible with Vista (although there is a patch for 5.0 to help with Vsta compability). Now that Elements 6.0 is out, I wouldn't expect to see any patches to Elements 4.0 for Vista issues. But, you never know about these things.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2008, 10:56 PM   #3

Have you tried running it in compatiblity mode? I understand that has been carried over to Vista, so you should be able to right-click on the application and select compatiblity for win xp.

I'm still on XP, but will likely wind up with a new Vista box soon, so let us know if and how well it works.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 11:04 PM   #4

I have experienced the same issue and the only fix (which is not really a fix) is to

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"right mouse on the program icon or name on the list of programs and select "run as administer"