Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Editors (Photoshop, Vegas, Final Cut Pro, Kdenlive, etc.)

Old Sep 28, 2003, 5:02 PM   #1

Default Need help with PS 7.0

Hi,
I was taking pictures of my daughters soccer game in Shutter Priority Mode this morning using the Digital Rebel and it was overcast and all of my pictures are dark...Is there a fairly simple way to brighten up these pictures in PhotoShop?...Here's a link to one of the pictures if you want to check it out, http://www.fototime.com/849B9ED000FFF02/orig.jpg I'm struggling a little bit.

Thanks in advance!

See ya...Jerry
JerryL2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 29, 2003, 8:41 PM   #2

Hi Jerry:

I am no expert.. (just love to play around with graphic software)..
but try this..
1- open your pics on PS7
2- goto Image/Adjustments/Curves (on the toolbar.. or Ctrl-M)
3- Set up input to 95 and output to 215

You can play around wiht the curve .. but with 95/215 IMHO you get a nice bright picture without the 'overexposed' look.

C.
Canada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2003, 2:57 PM   #3

Default Another way.

Is to open your photos in PS & then go to Image/Adjustments/Levels (this is always my first post processing step). Using the eyedroppers on the bottom in the Levels pallet, choose the one for white & use it to select a point on the image that you know to be white (or use the gray one if you know for sure there is gray in the image). This will adjust your complete image to what it should be related to solid white, gray, etc. You can then use the sliders along the bottom of the image (in the pallet) to adjust brightness to your likeing.